Not So Proud…

Well. those of you who know me know that I love the outdoors, especially hunting and fishing.  I have been described as an avid outdoorsman, and avid reader, and an avid user of the word avid!  I love living up here on Palomar because I get the chance to go hunting nearly every day!  Well, last night my friend Rob came up to do a little deer hunting.  We got to our spot a little late, and started to walk down into a nice, big valley where I have had success before.  I was telling him where I had seen several deer, so we walked towards that area.  About a mile and a half into the hike I spotted a deer.  We both immediately crouched down into the tall grass.  I crawled into a better position.  I asked Rob about the distance, he said 180 – 200 yards, I agreed.  Since we had just hiked over a mile, and I was excited, my heart was pounding.  I tried my best to steady my rifle, and BANG!  The deer took off running, I took one last shot.  WHen we got to where the deer was, we realized the the yardage was closer to 300 yards, and after an exhaustive search turned up no sign of a hit, we hiked back up to the car. 

I should really take some lessons from my cats…

 

andrew

~ by lifeonthemountain on October 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
