Crazy Night!

As you may know, my wife, Kim, is about 8 months pregnant.  She has been doing good with her pregnancy, and has had a relatively uneventful one.  However, last Thursday night was a lot different.  We were getting ready for bed when Kim tells me that she is bleeding, not a good sign when you’re pregnant…definitely not a good sign when you are an hour away from the nearest hospital!  We loaded up Mattias and headed for Palomar Hospital.  Luckily my mom was able to come pick up Mattias at the hospital and take him to her house.  After about an hour of observation, they decided that she was okay, and that the bleeding might have been stress related (her mom just had brain surgery).  We were very relieved, we thought that we would be having the baby that night!

We went to my mom’s house to pick up Mattias, and decided to head back up to Palomar Mountain to get some sleep.  We left my mom’s and headed north on Escondido Blvd, if you know Escondido, this isn’t the nicest part of town!  Especially at 2 a.m.!  As we drove down the street, I heard a clunk, and then a hiss…a flat tire!  Our tire actually had a steak knife in it, it was in the tread of the tire, so I don’t think that it was on purpose.  I finally got the tire changed, and we decided to sleep at my parent’s house.  I ended up with 3 hours of sleep, and a full day of teaching to follow!  Not the most fun I have ever had!

 

andrew

~ by lifeonthemountain on October 22, 2008.

One Response to “Crazy Night!”

  1. Sorry Andrew, I know it wasn’t meant to be a funny story, but STEAK KNIFE???
    That’s funny! Hope Kim is feeling better. Keep us posted on life on the mountain.

Leave a Reply

 
