the first 5 weeks…

Since I started the blog 5 weeks into the school year, I thought it would be a good idea for me to get you all up to speed…

It all started with a phone call.  Putting a school up on Palomar was not looking like it was going to happen, I had volunteered for the position of teacher/church planter when I first heard of the possibility, but by mid July the plan was still up in the air.  That was until I got a call from George (L&L Pastor) saying that we were going ahead, and that the school had been approved!  This call was great…except that we were in Children’s Hospital with Mattias at the time (he had a concussion, but he’s okay!)  From that point on we were busy!

We were amazingly up and ready for students by August 25th!  Bryan Langdoc came up to help me out on the first day, but we were missing one thing…students.  No student’s had formally enrolled in the school as of the first day.  School was supposed to begin at 8:30, and by 8:15 Bryan and I were the only ones at the school.  By 8:20 we were still alone.  Finally 8:30 rolled around, and the traffic jam began, 3 cars pulled into the lot and I met my five students!  Mikealah (7th grade), Dylan (5th grade), Elijah (4th grade), Madisen (1st grade) and Kasen (Kindergarten)…they are a great group of students!

Over the last 5 weeks I have moved up to the mountain, been stung by a swarm of yellowjackets, been stung by a regular bee, had to learn a lot about plumbing, and the difference between a regular septic tank, and just a holding tank, and have had a lot of fun on this adventure!  The class has gone for hikes, been to the observatory, been to a working cattle ranch, picked apples and made applesauce and apple butter, and we have so many more adventures ahead! (they also do schoolwork…they are actually further along than they would be in a traditional school)

 

I hope you enjoy reading about the adventures of the school kids, as well as my families adventures on the mountain.

 

andrew

~ by lifeonthemountain on October 6, 2008.

One Response to “the first 5 weeks…”

  1. Awesome!! I look forward to hearing more about life on the mountain. =)

Leave a Reply

 
